Board of Directors

Volunteer Board of Directors

The Tearmann Society Board

  • Tearmann Society By-laws allow for 21 Board Members.  Included in the Board are the Tearmann House Executive Director and a staff representative.
  • The Board Executive Committee consists of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary and Past Chair.

Current Committees in place: 

Governance, Labour Management, Bursary, Special Events, Fund Raising, Occupational Health & Safety, Human Resources, Policy & Procedures, Finance Oversight and Finance Operational Committees, Maintenance and Public Relations

  • Board members are expected to volunteer on one or more of the committees.  This allows a person to choose areas of interest and expertise.
  • The Board operates using the Complementary Model of Board Governance.
  • The Board meets every third Wednesday September through June.  There are no meetings in July, August & December.  Meetings are held at the New Glasgow Police Station and are usually from 6pm-7pm.
  • The committees meet on a separate basis, often monthly, and send written reports to the Board prior to each monthly meeting.

New Board Members Receive:

  • A Board Orientation Manual
  • A tour of Tearmann House
  • An Executive Director overview of Tearmann House background  and current activities
  • A review of how the Complementary Model works

New Board Members:

  • Must belong to the Tearmann Society in order to become a Board member.  This involves a nominal cost of $2.00 per annum
  • Must sign a confidentiality agreement
  • Agree to a police background check & vulnerable persons check
  • Must sign a "Tearmann Society Code of Conduct for Board Members"
  • Must agree to the Respectful Workplace Policy

If you are interested in volunteering as a Board member please contact: 

Tearmann House Executive Director by email

Escape Site